IT training

A Guide to CompTIA Certifications

A Guide to CompTIA Certifications 150 150 Kerry Butters

In the online world it’s important to be known for your skillset. There are always going to be numerous competitor businesses doing the same job as you are. But the difficulty that consumers face is picking the right business, or even the best individual, to fulfill their needs. That’s why there are often plenty of different types of certified qualifications that a business can achieve to mark them out as qualified and good at what they do.

CompTIA is one of those qualifications and the certification demonstrates that an individual has a solid grasp on various aspects of the computing industry. There are many different potential accreditation types within CompTIA’s library. One such option is in the cloud computing industry. This means that someone certified by CompTIA has a business and technical perspective on cloud models and infrastructure, as well as a good knowledge of what is involved in moving a business infrastructure to the cloud.

So, CompTIA is a tool of validation and it allows customers the understanding that your business is well-trained, forward thinking, and a viable candidate in the crowded online marketplace.

Let’s have a look then at what a CompTIA Cloud Essentials exam covers.

CompTIA Cloud Essentials and its exam requirements

An individual studying for a cloud CompTIA exam has to cover these areas to ensure that they have no gaps in their knowledge on the subject. Namely:

·         A business perspective on cloud characteristics

·         Knowledge of the application and value to a business of cloud computing

·         Cloud types, and technical understanding of how they work

·         Steps to successful adoption

·         How cloud adoption impacts IT service management

·         Risks and consequences of cloud adoption

The CompTIA certificate provides a wide range of both general and specific knowledge on cloud computing services. The course was initially developed by ITpreneurs in cooperation with the Cloud Credential Council. This membership body is dedicated to vendor-neutral training in cloud computing and compromises of several well known technology companies – IBM, Cisco, EMC, HP, and ING.

This certificate then has some cache amongst those already in the know so if you see the CompTIA certificate you can rest assured that the business in question has a good knowledge of cloud computing services and options. Any candidate undertaking the exam and course in general should have at least six months experience (although not required) in an environment that markets or relies on IT-related services.

Examination details

The test doesn’t last too long and students have 60 minutes to answer 50 questions. A user must have a minimum score of 720 to pass and the test can be taken in three languages: English, Japanese, and Portuguese.

CompTIA A+ Certification

The CompTIA stamp is an umbrella under which sits a wide variety of qualifications. Another one to consider is the CompTIA A+ certificate. This one covers IT related information and is not specific to the cloud. Simply put, this accreditation is for individuals wishing to start a career in IT and the exam covers maintenance of PCs, mobile devices, laptops, operating systems and printers.

This qualification ensures that a business has staff that understands and can maintain the day-to-day workings of the company’s computer systems. Individuals with this certificate can keep important devices healthy and ensure a well-oiled working environment for staff in general.

The CompTIA A+ certificate is required for:

·         Dell, Intel, and Lenovo service techs

·         Recognised by the US Department of Defense

The certificate has already seen widespread adoption and is currently held by over 900,000 IT professionals. Once more, it’s a vendor-neutral qualification and any customer on a business’ website can use it as a good rule of thumb in terms of how good (and valid) that business is.

Currently there are a number of jobs that use the CompTIA A+ certification:

·         Technical support specialist

·         Field service technician

·         IT support technician

·         IT support administrator

·         IT support specialist

The CompTIA A+ certification is assessed by two exams and both must be passed. The first exam, CompTIA A+ 220-801, covers the essentials of computer technology, its installation, and configuration of PCs, laptops, related hardware, and basic networking.

The second exam, CompTIA A+ 220-801 covers the necessary skills required to install and configure PC operating systems. Individuals that pass this exam will also be able to configure common features such as network connectivity and email across a number of mobile operating systems including Android and Apple iOS.

Any CompTIA certificate is valid for three years and individuals that wish to remain up-to-date can do so through the Continuing Education Program.

Stay relevant

The Continuing Education Program exists because the technology world is an ever-changing one. In this evolving world it’s important for IT professionals to show employers that their skills, knowledge and credentials are current with industry developments. It also shows potential customers that a service is not only good but also accredited and validated by an external body.

CompTIA is effectively a trade type validation of an individual’s ability to work in the computer industries. A business that has staff accredited via CompTIA is marked out from its competitors that doesn’t. CompTIA has considerable cache and customers should view this certification as a stamp of approval. These are just a couple of the certifications that can be obtained with CompTIA, it’s also possible to gain certification in networks, Linux, mobility and much more.

What’s more, the qualifications are well-recognised in the IT industry and even those going for a basic IT technician assistant will be well-placed to get the job if they gain the certification first.